Lanka Premier League 2021 To Start From December 4: Sri Lanka Cricket


Lanka Premier League

Sri Lanka Cricket on Thursday announced that the Lanka Premier League 2021 will be staged between December 4-23.

This will be the second edition of the country’s domestic T20 franchise league and the overseas players’ registration will begin from September 24.

Jaffna Stallions are defemding champions of Lanka Premier League

Last year, five teams participated in the T20 competition and Thisara Perera led Jaffna Stallions were crowned as the champions as they defeated Galle Gladiators by 53 runs in the final of LPL 2020 in Hambantota.

Lanka Premier League
Jaffna Stallions defeated Galle Gladiators to win the inaugural Lanka Premier League 2020 title. (Image credit: Twitter)

Sri Lanka’s domestic cricket seasons doubtful

Sri Lanka Cricket was supposed to launch a new format for the domestic season with 26 clubs in the league tournament which was likely to be divided into two groups. The group leaders were to play a four-day final.

According to a report by PTI, the 26 clubs were supposed to play in the major limited-overs league tournament. The end of December deadline for completion of the tournament now hangs in the balance as the current quarantine lockdown is due to end only on October 1.

Colombo Cricket Club are the reigning league champions and Nondescripts Cricket Club are the defending champions in limited-overs.

Sri Lanka duo of Wanindu Hasaranga were roped in by IPL franchise Royal Challengers Bangalore for the second leg of IPL 2021 as a replacement for Australian players Adam Zampa and Kane Richardson.

Wanindu Hasaranga
Wanindu Hasaranga playing for Jaffna Stallions. Credits: Twitter

Former Sri Lanka captain Lasith Malinga, who recently announced his retirement from all forms of cricket, is currently the leading wicket-taker of IPL with 170 scalps from 122 matches.

Galle Gladiators left-handed batsman Danushka Gunathilaka top-scored with 476 runs from 10 matches in Lanka Premier League 2020 while Jaffna Stallions leg-spinner Wanindu Hasaranga claimed 17 wickets to end as the highest wicket-taker in the tournament.

Also ReadLanka Premier League (LPL) Rescheduled To November

The post Lanka Premier League 2021 To Start From December 4: Sri Lanka Cricket appeared first on CricketAddictor.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are makes.